Zimbabwe bowl first, hand debuts to Marumani and Myers; Bangladesh pick Liton Das, Saifuddin


Brendan Taylor became the fifth Zimbabwe cricketer to 200 ODIs, after Andy Flower, Grant Flower, Elton Chigumbura and Hamilton Masakadza

Zimbabwe win the toss and bowl first vs Bangladesh

Zimbabwe captain Brendan Taylor decided to field first after winning the toss against Bangladesh in the first ODI in Harare. Playing his 200th ODI, Taylor emulated Andy Flower, Grant Flower, Elton Chigumbura and Hamilton Masakadza to become the fifth from his country to reach the milestone.
The hosts did not pick Sikandar Raza, who was back in the side after a shoulder surgery, while Tadiwanashe Marumani and Tadiwanashe Marumani were handed ODI debuts.
Meanwhile, the visitors went back to Liton Das to open the innings after he was dropped for the third ODI against Sri Lanka in May. Das replaced Mushfiqur Rahim, who has returned home due to a family matter. Also, Mohammad Saifuddin came in for Mustafizur Rahman, who injured his ankle during the tour match on Wednesday.

Zimbabwe: 1 Wessly Madhevere, 2 Tadiwanashe Marumani, 3 Brendan Taylor (capt), 4 Dion Myers, 5 Timycen Maruma, 6 Regis Chakabva, 7 Ryan Burl, 8 Luke Jongwe, 9 Tendai Chatara, 10 Blessing Muzarabani, 11 Richard Ngarava

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Liton Das (wk), 3 Shakib Al Hasan, 4 Mohammad Mithun, 5 Mosaddek Hossain, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Afif Hossain, 8 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 9 Mohammad Saifuddin, 10 Taskin Ahmed, 11 Shoriful Islam

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo’s Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

Source link