Unstoppable Prithvi Shaw, unflappable Aditya Tare take Mumbai to fourth Vijay Hazare Trophy title


Uttar Pradesh go down by six wickets, with 51 balls left in the game, despite putting up 312

Mumbai 315 for 4 (Aditya Tare 118*, Prithvi Shaw 73, Shivam Dube 42) beat Uttar Pradesh 312 for 4 (Madhav Kaushik 158*, Samarth Singh 55, Akshdeep Nath 55, Tanush Kotian 2-54) by six wickets

Mumbai coasted to a fourth Vijay Hazare Trophy title, beating Uttar Pradesh in the final in Delhi on Sunday by six wickets, getting to their not-meagre target of 313 with 51 balls in hand thanks to a 39-ball 73 from Prithvi Shaw, Aditya Tare‘s first List A century and partnerships of note right through their 41.3-over innings. UP’s batting innings, led by opener Madhav Kaushik‘s 156-ball 158, would have given them hopes of a first title win, but Shaw hammered them out of the contest early in the chase, making it easy for the batsmen to follow to complete the job and give Mumbai their fourth Vijay Hazare Trophy win. As for Shaw, he ended the tournament with 827 runs, the most by an individual in one season of the competition.

A short passage in the 28th over of the Mumbai chase summed things up from UP’s point of view. Shivam Mavi, bowling his sixth over, went around the wicket and sent it down the leg side to the left-handed Shams Mulani. Wide. And the wicketkeeper, Upendra Yadav, got behind the ball, but looked casual in getting his gloves behind the ball, and it went through his legs for four additional runs. The next ball was a wide too – by that stage, UP had lost the plot, and Mumbai were in total control. It didn’t change.

Source link