Unchanged Australia bat in search of series win


New Zealand have recalled Mark Chapman on a surface again expected to aid the spinners

Australia won the toss and decided to bat against New Zealand

Australia’s captain Aaron Finch won the toss and chose to bat first against New Zealand in the series-deciding fifth T20I in Wellington – brought forward in start time to allow the tourists to fly home to Australia on Sunday evening.

In the third consecutive match to be played on the same surface, Finch expected some assistance for his slow bowlers Adam Zampa, Ashton Agar and Glenn Maxwell while naming an unchanged side.

New Zealand’s captain Kane Williamson would also have batted first but hoped for some assistance with the new ball given the early start time. The hosts brought in the allround skills of Mark Chapman in place of Kyle Jamieson in their only change.

All four matches in the series thus far have been won by the team batting first.

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Devon Conway, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Glenn Phillips, 5 Mark Chapman, 6 Jimmy Neesham, 7 Tim Seifert (wk), 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Ish Sodhi, 11 Trent Boult

Australia 1 Aaron Finch (capt), 2 Matthew Wade (wk), 3 Josh Philippe, 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Marcus Stoinis, 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 Ashton Agar, 8 Jhye Richardson, 9 Kane Richardson, 10 Adam Zampa, 11 Riley Meredith

Daniel Brettig is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo. @danbrettig

Source link