‘Umpires got it right’ – Sunrisers coach on Harshal Patel’s full toss no-ball in final over of chase

News

Williamson nearing full fitness, confirmed Bayliss after the match

The last over of the Royal Challengers Bangalore’s six-run win against the Sunrisers Hyderabad had Harshal Patel bowl a full toss over the waist, the second time he had done so during the match. An animated David Warner was seen gesturing in the dugout, wondering why Patel wasn’t taken out of the attack given his second offence, but Sunrisers coach Trevor Bayliss later said the team eventually accepted the umpires had made the right call. That was because Patel’s first over-the-waist no-ball was not bowled at the batsman, and he, therefore, hadn’t received any warning for it.

“He was a little animated because we weren’t playing very good cricket and we lost,” Bayliss said of Warner, the team’s captain, at the post-match press conference. “I think the umpires got it right. There was a bit of conjecture over obviously the second high no-ball, but the first one was not directed at the batter’s body, so that wasn’t a warning. So I think the umpires got that one right.”

Patel had bowled his first no-ball on the fourth ball of the 18th over, the ball flying at Jason Holder’s rib height, but the batsman didn’t get bat on ball since it was well down the leg side. On the third ball of the 20th over, Patel lost control of the ball again and a high full toss on the stumps was swiped for four by Rashid Khan.

Source link