This will be the draw for the Tokyo 2020 soccer tournament

This next Wednesday (10.00) the draw will take place for the composition of the groups of the Tokyo 2020 Games football tournament to be held this coming summer. The tournament will feature the participation of 28 teams (16 male and 12 female), including Spain, and the draw will be held at FIFA headquarters in Zurich.

The men’s combined Japan, as the host team, will occupy the first place in group A and the female group, that of group E. The men’s teams will be distributed among the four pots according to the classification they have reached in the five previous editions of the Olympic Football Tournaments, as reported by FIFA this Friday.

The classification it has been weighted in such a way that the most recent actions are of greater importance; in addition, an extra will be awarded to the teams classified as continental champions.

The distribution of the 16 teams in the four groups of four teams each one (A-D) will be done as follows:

Pot 1: Japan, Brazil, Argentina and Republic of Korea

Pot 2: Mexico, Germany, Honduras and Spain

Pot 3: Egypt, New Zealand, Ivory Coast and South Africa

Pot 4: Australia, Saudi Arabia, France and Romania

The women’s teams They will also be distributed in four pots, but their position will depend on the FIFA / Coca-Cola Women’s World Ranking on April 16. The distribution of the twelve teams in the three groups of four teams (E-G) will be done as follows:

Pot 1: Japan, US and Netherlands

Pot 2: Sweden, Great Britain and Brazil

Pot 3: Canada, Australia and China PR

Pot 4: New Zealand, Chile and Zambia

The rule general draw is that two selections from the same confederation are not framed in the same group. The cities of Tokyo Sapporo, Miyagi, Kashima, Saitama and Yokohama will host the matches, between July 21 and August 7, 2021.