The previous precedent of brothers in Athletic corresponds to the Salinas

Thirty-five years have had to go by to see again what happened yesterday in San Mamés: two brothers defending the red-and-white shirt. This circumstance occurred when Iñaki
Williams replaced Villalibre and thus joined thus Nico, who had jumped onto the pitch in the 61st minute to replace Berenguer.

The previous precedent corresponds to Salinas. July Y Patxi they last played together for Athletic on April 20, 1986 in the last game of the 85-96 season played at Vicente Calderón against Atlético de Madrid. The two San Adrián players formed in the eleven of Iñaki Sáez, also composed of Zubizarreta, Elgezabal, Nuñez, From
Fountain, Galician, Lewis
Ferdinand, Urtubi, Noriega Y Argote. July was relieved by Sarabia at minute 61 and Endika came out by Argote at 73 ‘.

The match ended 3-1 in favor of the colchoneros and the visiting goal was scored by the greatest of the Salinas. To the following season, July He signed for the Madrid club, where he played for two seasons before joining Barça. Patxi He still spent another six seasons at Athletic before going to Celta, where he ended his career as a professional footballer. Now he is the coach of Basconia, the second rojiblanco subsidiary, while his brother acts as a television commentator, among other activities.

There are two other brothers who were together in Athletic in the 21st century, but they did not coincide on a pitch wearing the red-and-white jacket in official competition. They were Isaac Y Ager
Aketxe. The first only played one game under the orders of Caparros against Villarreal, while Ager He accumulated 34 games in the 4 seasons he played for the Bilbao team, according to the data provided by the club itself.

The Twitter account @DatAthle from Adurizpedia, a whole reference in terms of Athletic statistics refers, provides another piece of information, all the brothers who have coincided in Athletic playing together throughout history: The Unamuno, Sign, Silva
Abaitua, Etxebarria
Usaola, Belauste, Spider
Mendivil, Eguren
Goiri, Salinas, Rojo, Arieta, Gainza and Williams.