The ATP officializes Medvedev’s number 2, banned for ‘mortals’ for 15 years

Russian Daniil Medvedev, champion of the ATP 250 of Marseille this Sunday, already treads the second step of the top of the world podium denied for the ‘mortals’, that is to say for someone who was not Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer or Andy Murray, by being just below the Serbian player, in a position that, except for those mentioned, no one has occupied for more than 15 years, specifically since July 25, 2005, when the Australian was Lleyton Hewitt.

On this Monday’s list, Medvedev unseat Nadal as number 2 and makes ATP history, with Djokovic as the oldest leader ever and with the Majorcan 270 points behind the Russian.

During these almost 16 years, since the Australian Lleyton Hewitt occupying such a privileged podium, no one could break the established order.

There were many aspirants like Stan wawrinka, Juan Martin del Potro, Tomas Berdych, Dominic Thiem or David ferrer, but none of them succeeded until Medvedev has broken down the barrier that seemed to prevent access to the top three positions in the ranking.

MedvedevFor many a special player with a bad temper on the court, he has already made history, but now he has the challenge to stay and, perhaps, to keep looking up.

There are no more changes in the top 10, which also includes the Argentine Diego schwartzman, ninth, and it is Spanish Roberto Bautista, a finalist in Doha, the one who climbs two steps to place himself, this week, as the eleventh player in the world.

Top-20 ranking

1. Novak Djokovic (SRB) 12.008 p

2. Daniil Medvedev (RUS) 9,940 (+1)

3. Rafael Nadal (ESP) 9,670 (-1)

4. Dominic Thiem (AUT) 8,625

5. Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE) 6,765

6. Roger Federer (SUI) 6,375

7. Alexander Zverev (ALE) 5,635

8. Andrey Rublev (RUS) 5,011

9. Diego Schwartzman (ARG) 3,640

10. Matteo Berrettini (ITA) 3,453

11. Roberto Bautista (ESP) 2,910 (+2)

12. Denis Shapovalov (CAN) 2,865 (-1)

13. David Goffin (BEL) 2,795 (+1)

14. Gaël Monfils (FRA) 2,770 (-2)

15. Pablo Carreño (ESP) 2,630 (+1)

16. Grigor Dimitrov (BUL) 2,620 (+1)

17. Fabio Fognini (ITA) 2,530 (+1)

18. Felix Auger-Aliassime (CAN) 2,516 (+1)

19. Milos Raonic (CAN) 2,450 (-4)

20. Christian Garin (CHI) 2.385 (+2)