Steve Johnson defeats Guillermo López in Los Cabos

The American Steve Johnson, sixth favorite, won this Monday by 7-6 (4), 6-2 to the mexican Guillermo Lopez and the Round of 16 of the Los Cabos Tennis Open, ATP 250 tournament.

Johnson had to struggle to take the first set and was superior with his service in the second to enter the stage of the best 16 in which he will face the best of the Japanese Yasutaka uchiyama and the american Alexander Sarkissian.

Placed in the 83rd place on the ATP list, Johnson made a break in the sixth game; He took advantage of the good effectiveness in his first serves, but López broke in the ninth “game” and forced a ‘tie break’, won by the born in Orange, California.

In the second set the Mexican was no longer fine, he lost the service in the third game and again in the seventh against Steve Johnson, with 86 percent of points won with the first service.

Shortly before the Australian Alex Bolt, the world’s 148th racket, came from behind to outdo
0-6, 6-2, 6-3
to italian Andreas Seppi, seventh seed.

Seppi, number 87 in the world, passed over the rival with his serve in the first quarter that he won 6-0, but in the second Bolt made a break in the fourth game and from there he became owner of the duel, with his best service before the favorite.

With a purse of $ 64,655, the Los Cabos Open, ATP 250 tournament, is one of the best competitions in its category, which players use as a preview before taking part in the Masters 1,000 in Toronto and Cincinnati and the US Open, fourth Grand Slam of the season.

This Monday, in other results of the first round, the American Brandon nakashima beat his compatriot 6-3, 6-7 (5), 6-2 J.J Wolf, the russian Evgueny Donskoy defeated Taiwanese 6-1, 6-4 Jason jung, Y Sebastian Ofner defeated 6-3, 3-1 (ret) a Jurif Rodionov, in duel of Austrians.

This Tuesday the first round will conclude with a program led by the matches between the Austrian Jordan Thompson, fifth seed, and the Croatian Ivo Karlovic, champion of the tournament in 2016, the Ecuadorian Emilio Gomez and the colombian Nicolas Mejia, and the Americans Ernesto Escobedo and Mackenzie McDonald.