Spain, 28 years without losing a World Cup qualifying match

The Spanish selection will start this Thursday at the Nuevo Los Cármenes in Granada against Greece a new qualifying phase World Cup just at the gates of being fulfilled 28 years since his last defeat in this competition.

The Parken stadium in Copenhagen It was the stage, the March 31, 1993, from the last time Spain lost on the way to a World Cup. Flemming Povlsen, a forward who played among other teams for Real Madrid Castilla, made it 1-0 with which Richard Möller Nielsen’s team made life difficult for the team he led Javier

That day Zubizarreta, Cristóbal Parralo, Alkorta, Giner, Toni Muñoz (Jon Andoni Goikoetxea), Ferrer, Aldana, Amor, Guardiola (Nadal), Julio Salinas and Beguiristáin played in the Danish capital.

But Spain managed to straighten the course and ended up certifying the qualification for USA 1994 In a historic, almost epic night, the qualification at the Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán in Seville, precisely against the Danish team, with one man less due to the early expulsion of Andoni Zubizarreta, a heroic debut under the sticks of Santiago Cañizares and a goal by Fernando Hierro

Since that night in Copenhagen the Red has carried the record number of 63 matches without falling on the way to the World Cup, the next five from that phase and the next six complete, for France 1998, Korea / Japan 2002, Germany 2006, South Africa 2010, Brazil 2014 and Russia 2018.

In which Spain had it more complicated was in the previous phase of the German World Cup, since five draws made it finish in second place in group 7, after Serbia and Montenegro, with which it was forced to play a repechage tie against Slovakia.

The doubts were resolved in the first leg. Luis Aragonés’ team thrashed 5-1 in the first leg, played at the Vicente Calderón, with a triplet by Luis García and targets by Fernando Torres and Fernando Morientes. In the return leg there was no Slovak miracle and at 1-1, with a goal from David Villa, Spain entered the World Cup.

In the rest of the last qualifying phases, the career of the Spanish team has been efficient and solvent. Even in the previous South Africa 2010, where the Red were crowned world champions, they won their ten games.

In the last for Russia 2018 he won nine and drew only one, against Italy at the Juventus Stadium in Turin (1-1), on October 6, 2016, with targets from Víctor Machín ‘Vitolo’ and Daniele de Rossi from a penalty, who avoided the victory of Julen’s team in the last minutes Lopetegui.

Balance of the Spanish team in World Cup qualifying rounds since their last defeat:

World / PJ / PG / PE / PP / GF / GC

USA 1994/5/5/0/0/14/3

France 1998/10/8/2/0/26/6

Korea-Japan 2002/8/6/2/0/21/4

Germany 2006/10/5/5/0/19/3

(Repechage) / 2/1/1/1/6/2

South Africa 2010/10/10/0/0/28/5

Brazil 2014/8/6/2/0/14/3

Russia 2018/10/9/1/0/36/3