Scott Dixon achieves his third win and Alex Palou debuts on the podium at Road America

New Zealander Scott Dixon this Saturday he won Road America, his third victory of the season in the IndyCar series, in a race in which for the first time since the interruption by the Covid-19 coronavirus pandemic there were fans in the stands and in which the Spanish Alex Palou He was third and made his debut on the podium.

“Seeing fans and hearing them cheering again was definitely a lot of fun,” he said. Dixon, 39, after receiving the checkered flag at the inaugural double title race this weekend.

This marked the third IndyCar event of this pandemic season. Dixon He has won the top three and is the first to claim a victory with fans present.

Scott Dixon He was ninth in qualifying and was a long way from the main group in the first half of the race, but took the lead shortly after a caution flag and beat the Australian. Will power for 2.5386 seconds.

Dixon He is the first IndyCar driver to start a season with at least three consecutive victories since Sebastien Bourdais He achieved four in 2006.

The only other drivers who opened an IndyCar season with at least three consecutive wins were A.J. Foyt (seven in 1964) and Al unser (three in 1971).

Saturday’s race took drivers 55 laps around a course that is just over 4 miles long with 14 corners.

For much of the day, it seemed like Josef Newgarden he would win at Road America for the second time in three years.

Newgarden He took pole position on Saturday and was in command for the first half of the race until he stopped on the way out of his second pit stop and fell back into the drivers’ pack, finishing 14th.

Power had a close advantage over Dixon when Jack harvey He went off the track and caused a caution flag on lap 38. Dixon got ahead of Power exiting the pits on the restart and stayed ahead after two more caution flags.

The second caution flag came when Conor Daly went off track after contacting O’Ward duckleaving him out of the race and tearing his Chevy. The last came when Dalton Kellett also deviated.

Dixon He now has 49 career victories, leaving him alone behind Foyt (67) and Mario Andretti (52).

TO Dixon and Power Spanish followed Alex Palou, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Colton Herta to complete the first five to cross the finish line.

Alex Palou He took the winners podium on the IndyCar for the first time by finishing third with a time of 01: 54: 13.0625 hours, while the Mexican Duck O’Ward came in eighth position.

Palou, who drives the car marked with the number 55, started 14 at the start and completed the 55 laps to which the race was agreed. The Spanish rider has 35 points with his third position, which he achieved by running at an average of 115,973 miles per hour.

Meanwhile, the Mexican O’Ward He finished in eighth position and had 24 points. O’Ward, who also completed 55 laps, drove down the track and finished in a time of 1:54:24:6543 hours, running at an average speed of 115,777 miles per hour.

The configuration of Road america made it the ideal place for IndyCar to start allowing fans to be present.

The extensive 640-acre layout that surrounds the field allows fans to practice social distancing and wandering around the property instead of crowding into a grandstand.

Fans performed door temperature checks and received masks and hand sanitizer when they entered.

Wearing a mask was recommended, but not required, and a walk through the Road america She indicated that most viewers spent at least part of the time without it.

The IndyCar also plans to have spectators next weekend for a double game in Iowa, where the oval track has stands. IndyCar expects the followers to fill 50% of the circuit’s capacity for the Indianapolis 500 Miles August 23.

GP Road America standings

1. Scott Dixon (NZL / Chip Ganassi) 55 laps in 1h54’09 ”8697

(average speed: 116,027 km / h)

2. Will Power (AUS / Penske) at 2 ”5386

3. Alex Palou (ESP / Dale Coyne) at 3 ”1928

4. Ryan Hunter-Reay (USA / Andretti) at 3 ”9844

5. Colton Herta (USA / Andretti) at 7 ”2493

6. Santino Ferrucci (USA / Dale Coyne) at 8 ”2004

7. Graham Rahal (USA / Rahal Letterman Lanigan) at 11 ”3554

8. Pato O’Ward (MEX / Arrow McLaren SP) at 14 ”7846

9.Takuma Sato (JAP / Rahal Letterman Lanigan) at 15 ”0046

10. Marcus Ericsson (SWE / Chip Ganassi) at 15 ”7661

General classification of the IndyCar (3 of 14 races):

1. Scott Dixon (NZL / Chip Ganassi): 155 p.

2. Simon Pagenaud (FRA / Penske): 93

3. Colton Herta (USA / Andretti): 88

4. Josef Newgarden (USA / Penske): 84

5. Graham Rahal (USA / Rahal Letterman Lanigan): 81

6. Ryan Hunter-Reay (USA / Andretti): 73

7. Will Power (AUS / Penske): 72

8. Pato O’Ward (MEX / Arrow McLaren SP): 66

9. Zach Veach (USA / Andretti): 64

10. Marcus Ericsson (SWE / Chip Ganassi): 61