Peru and Paraguay open the quarterfinals of the Copa América

Peru Y Paraguay They face one of the most even quarter-final matches of the Copa América between two teams whose play has not been brilliant but which has allowed them to reach the knockout phase with relative comfort.

Peru arrives at the meeting in a better state of mind than its rival, with the entire team at the disposal of Richard
Gareca and with a feeling of constant improvement in his game since the beginning of the tournament.

After their terrible start against Brazil (4-0), Peru evolved and showed signs of character to finish second in group B with seven points, inspired by the forward’s delivery Gianluca
Lapadula, to regain some composure that the team had lost in qualifying for the world Cup.

History also seems to be on the side of the Peruvians, who have reached the semifinals in 3 of the last 4 editions of the tournament, as well as the stadium of Goiania where the match will be played, which already saw Peru beat Colombia 2-1 in its best match of the championship and how it worked a suffered 2-2 draw against Ecuador.

The last direct meeting between the two teams, for the World Cup qualifiers, ended in a draw at two goals.

Paraguay comes to this meeting marked by the situation of its striker Miguel Almiron, who was injured in the match against Uruguay on June 28 and it is not yet known if he will be able to play the quarterfinal match.

The emotional blow of this absence can affect a group with an irregular trajectory, which beat Chile and Bolivia without problems, but fell to Argentina and Uruguay.

History also indicates that the matches between the two teams are closed, locked and highly fought matters, so the Conmebol He preferred to entrust it on this occasion to the veteran Uruguayan referee Esteban

Peru: Pedro Gallese; Aldo Corzo, Christian Ramos, Luis Abram, Miguel Trauco; Yosimar Yotún, Renato Tapia, Sergio Peña; André Carrillo, Christian Cueva and Gianluca Lapadula.

Paraguay: Anthony Silva; Alberto Espínola, Gustavo Gómez, Junior Alonso, Héctor David Martínez; Ángel Cardozo, Santiago Arzamendia, Mathias Villasanti, Braian Samudio; Carlos González, Óscar Romero.

Referee: Esteban Ostojich (Uruguay)

Stadium: Olympic Pedro Ludovico, Goiania