Loeb and Gutiérrez, finalists in Saudi Arabia; Sainz and Laia Sanz, eliminated

The French Sebastien loeb and the spanish Cristina Gutierrez (Team X44), the Swede Johan Kristoffersson and the australian Molly taylor (Rosberg Xtreme Racing) and the Swede Timmy hansen and the british Catie munnings (Andretti United Extreme E) are the finalists of the first round of the new championship ‘Extreme E’, for electrically powered off-road vehicles.

Sébastien Loeb and Cristina Gutiérrez, The best in the qualifying session on Saturday confirmed this Sunday their good moment on the sand in the Saudi province of Al-Ula. They took one of the two places that the semifinal put into play. The other was for Johan Kristoffersson and Molly Taylor, so that the Spanish Carlos Sainz and Laia Sanz (Acciona Sainz XE) were left out of the final round.

Through the Crazy Race, instead, they got a place in the final Timmy Hansen and Catie Munnings. The Crazy Race, a race contested between cars classified from fourth to sixth place on Saturday, faced the British Oliver bennett and the italian Christine Giampaoli Zonca (Hispano-Suiza Xite Energy Team) and also the British Jenson button and the swedish Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky (JBXE), whom they defeated to advance to the last round in Al-Ula.

The Extreme E, created by spanish Alexander Agag and the ex-Brazilian driver Gil de Ferran, is a competition that brings together ten teams made up of a man and a woman and is held in five locations affected by climate change with the aim of giving visibility and raising awareness about this problem.

The competition also promotes gender equality with the same number of male and female participants.

After the inaugural test in Saudi Arabia, the new Extreme E championship will travel to the Pink Lake of Dakar, in Senegal, the scene of the second test from May 29 to 30.

Later, the caravan will move to the Russell Glacier, in Greenland (August 28-29), to the Brazilian Amazon (October 23-24) and to Argentine Patagonia, which will end the contest on December 11 and 12.