LaLiga, on the way to another exciting final for the title

Spanish football is still very aware of the evolution of the coronavirus pandemic and to receive the expected OK from the health authorities to resume the competition, surely in mid-June. The Barca, leader, and the Real Madrid, their most immediate persecutor, reached the obligatory break by COVID-19 separated by only two points. Both will resume LaLiga 2019-20 with 11 exciting ‘finals’ ahead, even though the matches will be behind closed doors, in his titanic fight for the title.

So far, in 38 of the 88 seasons that have been played in First division The champion was decided on the last day (43.2%), with the Barça team being the one that won the trophy the most times on the last date (10).

The last season that the title was decided on the last day was 16/17 and is the only league conquered by the Real Madrid in the last seven seasons. The White Ensemble, led by Zinedine Zidane, appeared with three points of advantage over Barça and sang the alirón after beating Málaga at La Rosaleda 0-2.

Seven white titles on the last day

The Real Madrid, the most successful team in the competition, has won seven of its 33 LaLiga titles on the last day, which is only 21%, the lowest percentage of all the teams that have won the title. In contrast, four teams (Deportivo, Sevilla, Betis and Real Sociedad) they have achieved 100% of their championships in the last date, according to data from ‘Opta’.

The Atlético de Madrid, the third team with the most Leagues, has needed to reach the last appointment to secure the championship in nine of their 10 titles, being the only season in which they did not suffer the 76/77 campaign on the last day, when the alirón sang after tying at Santiago Bernabeu on the penultimate round (1-1 in May 1977), and the last in 2014, when he raised the trophy for the tenth time after drawing at the Camp Nou (1-1) against a Barca that he needed the victory to take the first place from the rojiblancos.

Only in 11 of the 38 titles that have been decided on the last day in the LaLiga history, the runner-up team reached the fateful date with an advantage -five chances- or tied on points with respect to the leader -six-, being the last team to lose the leadership on the last date the Sports in 1994.

The Galician team, which was preparing to achieve its first title in the highest category, appeared on the last day with the obligation to win the Valencia in Riazor -or to equalize the result of Barça- but the final 0-0 gave the championship to the set of Johan Cruyff, who did not spare against Sevilla at the Camp Nou (5-2).

Heart attack trophies for the Cruyff Dream Team

But the 93/94 title was not the only one achieved in extremis by the Catalans, who proclaimed themselves champions on the last day in the previous two seasons after snatching first place from the Real Madrid thanks to the victories of the Tenerife by Jorge Valdano in the Heliodoro Rodríguez against the meringues, making the fief chicharrero the only stadium in the entire history of the competition in which the same team has lost the title on the last day on two occasions (in Riazor two championships were also elucidated on the last date but with different teams).

The best moments of the last 40 years:

1. Atomic Real Madrid (05/27/2017 – La Rosaleda). Real Madrid achieved its thirty-third and last LaLiga title after winning on the last day against Malaga 0-2. The first goal reaches 98 seconds after the start of the duel, being the third fastest goal of Cristiano Ronaldo with the white team in any competition and that meant that Real Madrid scored in each and every one of the games they play in the same LaLiga season for the first time in their history.

2. Without mercy Barca (14/05/2016 – Los Cármenes). FC Barcelona raises its twenty-fourth LaLiga title by beating Granada by a resounding 0-3. All goals are the work of Luis Suarez, which adds a total of 40 goals in LaLiga 15/16, becoming the third player to reach that figure in the same season in the history of the competition, after Leo Messi -three times- and Cristiano Ronaldo -other three-.

3. A header to heaven (5/17/14 – Camp Nou). Atlético de Madrid tied 1-1 in the Barça coliseum against a Barça that was champion for 16 minutes, the time that elapsed between the goal of Alexis Sánchez and the header of Diego Godin.

4. Salvador double (6/17/2007 – Santiago Bernabéu). Fabio Capello’s Real Madrid completed his heroic comeback to get his thirtieth league title after beating RCD Mallorca 3-1. The hero of the party was the sadly deceased José Antonio Reyes, who with his double became the only substitute for the white team to score two goals in the same match in that league campaign.

5. Karma in Riazor (5/19/2000 – Riazor). The Sports He debuted his record with his first LaLiga title, becoming the ninth team to achieve the trophy in the history of the competition, after beating Espanyol 2-0. The goal that opened the way to the sports victory was the work of Donato, right in the same goal but six years earlier in which Miroslav Djukic He had missed the penalty in the last minute against Valencia that would have given the championship to the Galician team.

6. Ecstasy rojiblanco (5/25/1996 – Vicente Calderón). Atlético de Madrid achieved the first and only double in the League and Cup in its 117 years of history after defeating Albacete 2-0. So many of Diego Simeone and Kiko Narváez in the first half they sentenced the championship for the mattress makers, who became the first LaLiga champion in which the triumphs were awarded with three points.

7. The Dream Team says goodbye (5/14/1994 – Camp Nou). Barça get its fourteenth LaLiga title and the fourth consecutive after beating Sevilla by a forceful 5-2 and benefiting from the draw of Dépor in Riazor against Valencia, thus achieving the last great title in the was Cruyff. Stoichkov (2), Romario, Laudrup and Bakero scored in the Barça win against Sevilla.

8. Hristo’s smile (6/7/1992 and 6/20/1993 – Camp Nou). Thanks to the two victories on the last day of Tenerife Jorge Valdano before the Real Madrid, Barça won its eleventh and twelfth Liga. In both last days, the Catalan team did not fail in their commitments and in both they scored Stoichkov, both in the 1-0 victory against Real Sociedad in 1993 and in the 2-0 victory against Athletic a year earlier, the Bulgarian achieving all three goals.

9. The years of the barge (4/29/1984 – San Mamés). Athletic Club achieved the last of its eight LaLiga titles and the second consecutive on the last day of 83/84 after beating Real Sociedad 2-1. The hero of the rojiblanca victory was the defender Jesús Iñigo Liceranzu, who scored one of his only three doubles in the competition right in that derby against the people of Donostia.

10. Salvador Zamora (4/26/1981 – El Molinón). Real Sociedad won its first LaLiga title in one of the last most agonizing days in the history of the competition. The Real Madrid He beat Real Valladolid in Pucela by 1-3, so the San Sebastian team needed to at least draw on their visit to Gijón. And he did it but on the horn. Sporting won 2-1 but in the last minute Jesus Maria Zamora, one of the icons of the Basque group, achieved the tremendous tie.