La Cartuja can host the Euro if Bilbao is ruled out

The stadium of the Charterhouse from Seville, scene of the last international matches of the Spanish soccer team, could host matches of the next Eurocup of Nations in the event that UEFA rules out Bilbao as the venue, as reported this Friday by journalist Rafa Fernández in Onda Cero, indicating that it is the alternative being considered by the Royal Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) in case the San Mamés Stadium finally becomes falls from the list of venues.

The RFEF and the Junta de Andalucía, according to the aforementioned information, could already have an agreement to propose to UEFA that the La Cartuja Stadium be the Spanish headquarters in the European championship of national teams that will be played between next June 11 and July 11, in the event that the original headquarters in Bilbao is finally discarded. Despite the fact that last Tuesday sources from the Bilbao City Council assured that the matches could be played with a 25% capacity, the RFEF indicated hours later, through a statement, that it sees it as “unfeasible” for there to be public “due to sanitary conditions established by the Basque Government ”.

UEFA has announced this Friday that so far eight venues for Euro 2020 have confirmed that there will be audiences in different percentages in the matches they will host and that the other four, which are Bilbao, Munich, Rome and Dublin, have until April 19 to provide additional information about your plans. “On that date the final decisions will be made on the holding of the matches in these four venues” and more information will be communicated to those who have purchased tickets at them, the agency said in a statement.

In principle, Bilbao is designated to be one of the 12 venues

In principle, Bilbao is designated to be one of the 12 venues for Euro 2020, which is held one year late due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The matches that San Mamés must host are those of the Spanish teams, which will play its three first phase matches, and Sweden, Poland and Slovakia, with these dates and times: Spain-Sweden (Monday June 14, 9:00 p.m.), Spain- Poland (Saturday June 19, 9:00 p.m.), Slovakia-Spain (Wednesday June 23, 6:00 p.m.) and the round of 16 between the first of B and the third of A / D / E / F.