Ireland bowl in first T20I encounter against South Africa; visitors play Lizaad Williams


Kevin O’Brien, who has now retired from ODIs, will be looking to overturn a period of poor form in T20Is

Ireland choose to bowl vs South Africa

Kevin O’Brien was included in the Irish team to face South Africa in the first T20I meeting between the two sides. O’Brien had announced his retirement from ODIs earlier this year, but remains available in the shortest format and will be looking to overturn a period of poor form.
Captain Andy Balbirnie will partner Paul Stirling at the top, with big-hitting Harry Tector and George Dockrell in the middle order. Meanwhile, Ireland’s bowling attack includes three seamers and two spinners.
South Africa have a similar combination, after dispensing with a seam-bowling allrounder. They chose three quicks in Kagiso Rabada, Lizaad Williams and Lungi Ngidi, and two spinners in allrounder George Linde and left-arm wristspinner Tabraiz Shamsi.

Their line-up includes all four openers that have toured with their squad. Captain Temba Bavuma will open the batting with Quinton de Kock, with Janneman Malan being given an opportunity at No.3 following his form in the ODIs, and Aiden Markram at No.4. That leaves Rassie van der Dussen and David Miller to make up the middle-order.

Ireland: (possible) 1 Paul Stirling, 2 Andy Balbirnie (capt), 3 Kevin O’Brien, 4 Harry Tector, 5 George Dockrell, 6 Lorcan Tucker (wk), 7 Shane Getkate, 8 Simi Singh, 9 Barry McCarthy, 10 Josh Little, 11 Craig Young

South Africa (possible): 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Temba Bavuma (capt), 3 Janneman Malan, 4 Aiden Markram, 5 Rassie van der Dussen, 6 David Miller, 7 George Linde, 8 Kagiso Rabada, 9 Lizaad Williams, 10 Lung Ngidi 11 Tabraiz Shamsi

Firdose Moonda is ESPNcricinfo’s South Africa correspondent

Source link