Fortuin, Mulder and Beuran Hendricks in as South Africa bat first vs Ireland


Barry McCarthy was left out for Craig Young in the Ireland XI, as the tour moves to Belfast

Toss South Africa opt to bat v Ireland

South Africa have made three changes to the XI that took the series against Ireland on Monday to try a different combination as they prepare for the T20 World Cup.

Left-armer Beuran Hendricks gets his first game of the tour, after carrying drinks throughout the Test and T20I series in West Indies and in the ODI series in Ireland. He formed a new-look pace attack with Lungi Ngidi and allrounder Wiaan Mulder, who displaced spin-bowling allrounder George Linde. Left-arm spinner Bjorn Fortuin was brought into the team , with Kagiso Radaba rested. South Africa’s batting line-up was unchanged, with all four openers in the squad in the team, and no room for Kyle Verreynne or Heinrich Klaasen, and they were on display first after Temba Bavuma chose to bat first.
Ireland, who need to win to keep the series alive, left out Barry McCarthy and included Craig Young. There’s also a change in scenery. The series has made its way to Belfast, which will host its first T20I since 2015.

Ireland: 1 Paul Stirling, 2 Kevin O’Brien, 3 Andy Balbirnie (capt), 4 Harry Tector, 5 George Dockrell, 6 Lorcan Tucker (wk), 7 Shane Getkate, 8 Simi Singh, 9 Mark Adair, 10 Josh Little, 11 Craig Young

South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Temba Bavuma (capt), 3 Janneman Malan, 4 Aiden Markram 5 Rassie van der Dussen, 6 David Miller, 7 Wiaan Mulder, 8 Bjorn Fortuin, 9 Beuran Hendricks, 10 Lungi Ngidi 11 Tabraiz Shamsi

Firdose Moonda is ESPNcricinfo’s South Africa correspondent

Source link