Dion Myers debuts as Zimbabwe opt to bat


Hosts are without Taylor and Williams; Naim comes in for Bangladesh

Sikandar Raza, the Zimbabwe captain, decided to bat first in the first T20I against Bangladesh, who are playing their 100th T20I, in Harare.
Raza last captained Zimbabwe in a T20I in 2015, where they beat India by 10 runs.
The hosts are without the rested Brendan Taylor, while Sean Williams, who played in Zimbabwe’s last T20I against Pakistan, is also missing. Dion Myers makes his T20I debut after breaking into the Test and ODI side earlier in this tour.

Bangladesh have a well-balanced side with three quicks and two specialist spinners who can also bat. Their top-order includes Liton Das, Mohammad Naim and Soumya Sarkar, who will want to improve his consistency.

Zimbabwe: 1 Regis Chakabva (wk), 2 Tadiwanashe Marumani, 3 Tarisai Musakanda, 4 Dion Myers, 5 Wessley Madhevere, 6 Sikandar Raza (capt), 7 Ryan Burl, 8 Wellington Masakadza, 9 Luke Jongwe, 10 Blessing Muzarabani, 11 Richard Ngarava

Bangladesh: 1 Liton Das, 2 Mohammad Naim, 3 Soumya Sarkar, 4 Shakib Al Hasan, 5 Mahmudullah (capt), 7 Nurul Hasan (wk), Afif Hossain, 8 Mahedi Hasan, 9 Mohammad Saifuddin, 10 Mustafizur Rahman, 11 Mustafizur Rahman

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo’s Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

Source link