Betis has a new record in sight

The Real
Betis He has only lost 2 of the 21 games he has played so far in 2021 and on Sunday he can match in Valladolid his best series of the 21st century, which dates back to the 2001-02 season when he only lost 2 games out of 22 between November of 2001 and April 2002 (in that case all of the League, since the Cup was eliminated months before by Ceuta in the first round) at the hands of Juande Ramos. That streak was started by the Verdiblancos, like the current one, with a draw in a derby against the eternal rival.

In that series with Juande Ramos of 2001/02, Real Betis added between matchdays 12 and 33 a total of 8 victories, 12 draws and only 2 defeats. At the end of matchday 29, after beating Carles Rexach’s FC Barcelona 2-1, the Verdiblancos were fully involved in the fight for the League title, as they were third 4 points behind the leader -Valencia, ultimately champion – Already 3 of the second classified, Real Madrid, although a series of four consecutive draws – against Zaragoza, Sevilla, Rayo and Osasuna – and a defeat in Tenerife finally took them away from the fight for the league podium, although they disputed the Champions League places until the penultimate day and at the end they finished sixth and qualified for the UEFA Cup, just after being promoted.

So far this year, 2021, Real Betis has added 11 victories, 8 draws and 2 defeats in all competitions, although one of the draws was in the quarterfinals of the Cup against Athletic, which later eliminated the Verdiblancos in penalties.

In the 1996-97 season, led by Lorenzo Serra Ferrer, Real Betis signed an extraordinary streak between the end of October 1996 (defeat 1-2 against Espanyol) and May 1997 (defeat 2-1 at Las Gaunas against el Logroñés) in which he only lost 2 matches – against Barcelona and Deportivo – out of 36 in all competitions, scoring 24 victories and 10 draws. That campaign, Real Betis finished LaLiga 4th, tied at 77 points with 3rd- and finalist in the Copa del Rey, which lost to FC Barcelona de Figo, Guardiola, Luis Enrique, Ronaldo -who did not play in the final- Bobby Robson and Mourinho.