Azharuddin part of BCCI’s working group to oversee 2021-22 domestic season


Rohan Jaitley (DDCA president), Yudhvir Singh (UPCA secretary) and Avishek Dalmiya (CAB secretary) are also part of the seven-member group

Mohammad Azharuddin, the former India captain, and Jaydev Shah, former Saurashtra captain and current president of the SCA (Saurashtra Cricket Association), are part of a seven-member working group formed by the BCCI to oversee the conduct of the upcoming 2021-22 domestic season.

The other members include Rohan Jaitley, (DDCA president), Yudhvir Singh (UPCA secretary), Devajit Saikia (ACA secretary) Avishek Dalmiya (CAB secretary) and Santosh Menon (KSCA secretary). The working group’s immediate task is to formalise a compensation package for BCCI’s domestic players for the pandemic-induced truncated 2020-21 domestic season.

India’s rising Covid-19 cases and a small available window made even smaller by the staging of IPL 2020 in the UAE between September and November meant the BCCI couldn’t conduct their premier men’s domestic tournament, the Ranji Trophy, last year. In the women’s circuit, the domestic T20 competition was called off, while none of the age-group tournaments were possible.

The absence of the Ranji Trophy, the biggest source of income for domestic male cricketers in India, led to a significant decrease in player earnings, leaving many layers without government jobs looking for opportunities elsewhere. A domestic male player on an average takes home INR 12-14 lakh per season. This amount decreased to INR 3-4 lakhs for the 2020-21 season.

Source link