Australia opt to field, India hand T20I debut to T Natarajan

Australia won the toss against India and chose to field

Resplendent in a uniform with an Aboriginal design, Australia captain Aaron Finch won the toss and chose to send India in to bat in the first T20I of a three-match series at Manuka Oval in Canberra.

Australia had Mitchell Starc back fit to play after he missed the final ODI on Wednesday with a minor side injury, and chose D’Arcy Short at the top of the order alongside Finch. Ashton Agar was ruled out as expected with a calf strain suffered in the ODI, and was replaced by Mitchell Swepson for his first international since June 2018.

In all, Short, Swepson, Sean Abbott and Moises Henriques were inclusions from Australia’s previous T20I line-up, replacing Agar, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Marsh and Kane Richardson. Matthew Wade retained the gloves at the expense of Alex Carey.

India rested Jasprit Bumrah after he played all three of the ODIs and handed a T20I debut to T Natarajan, and also chose to put KL Rahul at the top of the order alongside Shikhar Dhawan, with Virat Kohli at No. 3.

Australia: Aaron Finch (capt), D’Arcy Short, Matthew Wade (wk), Steven Smith, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Sean Abbott, Mitch Starc, Mitch Swepson, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

India: Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul (wk), Virat Kohli (capt), Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Shami, T Natarajan

Source link