Aganzo and Toquero, two alternatives for the AFE four decades later

The Association of Spanish Footballers (AFE) will culminate this Friday an electoral process in which 11,908 affiliates will be able to choose between two alternatives, those led by David Aganzo and Gaizka Toquero, for the first time after four decades with unique candidacies in most of their elections. .

This time it will not be like that and from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. the footballers will be able to vote in person at the union headquarters in Madrid, which will also have to count the high number of votes by mail received.

The complexity of the count will mean that the result will not be known until the next day, as confirmed by AFE, when the chosen candidacy is provisionally proclaimed. The electoral calendar provides until Tuesday the 13th a deadline to present appeals and the resolution of these the following day, the date on which the final results are expected to be communicated.

In these elections David Aganzo opts for re-election for a second term in the position of president he has held since November 2017, when he relieved Luis Rubiales after having been a member of its board of directors.

Unity, transparency and independence are values ​​that his project defends, which is committed to improving the First and Second B agreements, updating that of Second B, regulating the working conditions of Third, AFE sessions for women, professionalizing women’s football and modernizing the entity.

With the motto “The value that unites us”, active and retired players such as Diego Rivas, José Luis Morales, Jordi Alba, Silvia Meseguer, Lucas Pérez and Jade Boho, as well as former coach José Antonio Camacho, are part of his team.

As an alternative, Gaizka Toquero appears, backed by some former directors of Aganzo. Commissioning an audit and signing an agreement with Transparency International are his immediate projects, along with the creation of a final-degree fund and medical insurance for Third and Second female.

Also on his agenda includes improving the end of career fund for professionals and another fund together with medical insurance for Third and Second female ”. Its board of directors would include, among others, Vicente Iborra, Manuel García, Garazi Murua, Marta García “Costa”, Vicente Engonga, Tito Blanco and Jesule Brbadilla.

This year’s elections will mean a change in the history of the union’s elections because since its creation in 1978, when Joaquín Sierra “Quino” won Ángel Villar to be its first president, the majority have been resolved with unique candidacies.

This was the case in the most recent eleven years ago. Those summoned for March 2010, when Gerardo González Movilla, who had been in the presidency for 21 years -since 1988- withdrew his candidacy days before the voting due to an “unjustified and undeserved shadow of mistrust” towards his board and after an Assembly in the one that the accounts were not approved.

Two months earlier, the platform headed by Luis Rubiales demanded the call for elections with the backing of sufficient signatures. After Movilla’s resignation, the current president of the Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) was proclaimed president.

He remained in office until November 2017 when he decided to run for the presidency of the RFEF after the disqualification of Ángel Villar. With his departure, the board agreed that Aganzo would replace him and an Extraordinary Congress held on November 28 ratified him with the support of 98.58%.

Many years ago, on October 28, 1988, Gerardo González Movilla also led the only candidacy to replace Juan José Iriarte, and his proclamation was automatic. In the case of the Iriarte election, in May 1982, the players did vote, since despite being officially the only candidate, his legality was questioned for having remained a member of the management board during the electoral period. He carried out the vote and after a first term he was re-elected in November 1985.

Before Iriarte’s election, they held the presidency of AFE Quino, who did so twice (1978 and 1979-1982), and ex-Barcelona player Juan Manuel Asensi, who replaced him for one year (December 1978-December 1979).