3-1: Flamengo wins the Carioca Championship with a ‘double’ from Gabigol

The Flamengo beat this Saturday 3-1 at Fluminense with a double from the gunner Gabriel Barbosa ‘Gabigol’ and won the title of Championship
Carioca, one of the most important and popular regional tournaments in Brazil.

Flamengo, the current Brazilian champion and who also won the Rio title last year, won the legendary Maracana stadium in Rio de Janeiro thanks to two goals from Gabigol and a goal from Joao Gomes, a young player from the club’s base. Both teams had drawn during the first match played last week, in which, like today, they lined up their main figures.

In this Saturday’s meeting, Gabigol, who was called up for the next two matches of the Brazilian team for the World Cup qualifiers, opened the scoring in the 43rd minute with a penalty. Two minutes later he received a pass from Filipe Luis and starred in a cross shot that managed to pass the barrier of goalkeeper Marcos Felipe.

Bruno Henrique (Flamengo) disputes a ball with Nino

Fluminense reacted in the second half with a goal from striker Fred, their main figure, but failed to overcome the scoreboard and ended up giving up the tournament, a new defeat for the club after losing to the Colombian Junior in the Copa Libertadores.

Minutes before the end of the match, Joao Gomes, recently climbed, starred in his first goal with the professional team and put the finishing touch to the match.

In the final of last season, Flamengo, then commanded by Portuguese Jorge Jesus, won both games against Fluminense and also won the Carioca Championship, which brings together the most important football clubs in the state of Rio de Janeiro.

After this Saturday’s triumph, Flamengo coach, exporter Rogerio Ceni, lifted his third trophy as coach of the Rio de Janeiro team in six months, after winning the 2020 Brazilian Championship and the 2021 Brazilian Super Cup.

Also this Saturday, Atlético Mineiro became champion of the Minas Gerais regional tournament with a goalless draw in the second leg against América.

In the first leg both teams also drew, but the Albinegro team won the title after having had the best campaign in the qualifying phase.